Im am calling for assistance!

General Forum covering non-specific topics.

Im am calling for assistance!

Postby Quaon » Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:14 pm

As some of you know, I have a website that I blog on. Today, when i was googleing, I found a post on another site that looked remarkably similar. I now know it to be stolen from my site!

Now, here is where the problem is. I cannot find a way to contact the person that runs the host for this guy's free blog. If I can, I can get him ousted. There is no obvious way to contact them, so I am counting on you guys to help me! Find me a way to contact the person who runs the webhost (email being the best) and I will make it worth your effort, trust me. I have already tried talking to this guy, he deletes my comments, and ignores me.

Here is the link to my post on my site: http://advancedapathy.com/2009/04/20/op ... p-10-list/
The link to my post he stole: http://operadownload.edublogs.org/2009/ ... ed-apathy/

Please, help me contact his webhost!
Abandon all hope, ye who enter here. -Socrates
User avatar
Quaon
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Washington, USA

Advertisement

Re: Im am calling for assistance!

Postby muto » Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:32 pm

Whois dump.
Code: Select all
Domain Name:EDUBLOGS.ORG
Created On:29-Mar-2005 02:18:05 UTC
Last Updated On:24-Apr-2009 23:32:34 UTC
Expiration Date:29-Mar-2013 02:18:05 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:eNom, Inc. (R39-LROR)
Status:CLIENT TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Registrant ID:6E6D81AE9BE44DE9
Registrant Name:James Farmer
Registrant Street1:13 Calrossie Avenue, Montmoren
Registrant Street2:cy
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Melbourne
Registrant State/Province:VICTORIA
Registrant Postal Code:3094
Registrant Country:AU
Registrant Phone:+61.405703923
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:james@incsub.org


You've got a name, number, and email. However, that email has about 90 other domains registered to it, and the site in question (edublogs) claims to have 300k blogs, so you might not get a good reposnse.

There's also a contact form on the site, which looks like a simple php mailer.

Code: Select all
http://edublogs.org/campus/contact/


Their ToS clearly states blogs cannot contain copyrighted content.
Code: Select all
http://edublogs.org/campus/wp-content/uploads/2008/08/edublogs-campus-terms-and-conditionsx12.pdf



Edit:
Code: Select all
SMTP headers :
IP:207.97.240.174
EHLO mcsv10.net
MAIL FROM:<support@edublogs.org>


I signed up to the mailing list, and this is the address it comes from :>
muto
Power Member
 
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 11:46 am

Re: Im am calling for assistance!

Postby Quaon » Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:47 pm

Ah. Thank you dearly muto. I have emailed them and they immediately took down the site. Check your PM box.
Abandon all hope, ye who enter here. -Socrates
User avatar
Quaon
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Washington, USA

Re: Im am calling for assistance!

Postby muto » Thu Apr 30, 2009 5:46 am

Excellent, a webhost that's actually quick at removing content that shouldn't be there..

If we had more hosts like that around, there'd be a lot less skiddies phising...
muto
Power Member
 
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 11:46 am

Re: Im am calling for assistance!

Postby Todd91 » Mon May 04, 2009 11:11 pm

i would have just jacked the web host itself, much simpler and faster
Todd91
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 3:51 am

Re: Im am calling for assistance!

Postby ICT Tech » Tue May 05, 2009 3:52 am

Todd91 wrote:i would have just jacked the web host itself, much simpler and faster


Incase you hadn't noticed, he got in touch with the appropriate people and reported it and it was removed.
Hacking the host itself would have landed Quaon in alot of trouble, mainly The Computer Misuse Act of 1990!
ICT Tech
Power Member
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 5:33 pm

Re: Im am calling for assistance!

Postby jd2kuk » Fri May 08, 2009 11:21 pm

Well, strictly speaking, that's actually a UK law, so it wouldn't apply to Quaon... ;)

It is nice to see a host which resolves issues quickly, though.
Some people are like Slinkies: completely useless but fun to watch when you push them down stairs.
jd2kuk
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: Im am calling for assistance!

Postby ICT Tech » Mon May 11, 2009 7:57 pm

jd2kuk wrote:Well, strictly speaking, that's actually a UK law, so it wouldn't apply to Quaon... ;)


Why, where's he? :P
ICT Tech
Power Member
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 5:33 pm

Re: Im am calling for assistance!

Postby Quaon » Mon May 11, 2009 10:16 pm

You don't know? I'm an American.
Abandon all hope, ye who enter here. -Socrates
User avatar
Quaon
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Washington, USA

Re: Im am calling for assistance!

Postby cheesepuff » Mon May 11, 2009 10:42 pm

Quaon wrote:You don't know? I'm an American.

Howdy Partner, I like guns and god!
PLEASE DONT BAN ME
Cheesepuff: geeky and proud.
Rocking a Mac Mini: Want a MacBook Pro (2.66/4gb/Matte High-Res)!
User avatar
cheesepuff
Power Member
 
Posts: 532
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:45 pm

Next

Return to General Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


  • Advertisement