For those people running windows...

General Forum covering non-specific topics.

Moderator: Community Moderators

Post Reply
jd2kuk
Posts: 1537
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 12:19 am
Location: UK

For those people running windows...

Post by jd2kuk » Fri Nov 23, 2007 5:20 pm

...how cluttered and junked up is your start menu?

Just a random question I wondered about, cos mine is awful...

Fergie1
Posts: 257
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: UK

Re: For those people running windows...

Post by Fergie1 » Fri Nov 23, 2007 8:39 pm

Mine could be better.

jd2kuk
Posts: 1537
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 12:19 am
Location: UK

Re: For those people running windows...

Post by jd2kuk » Fri Nov 23, 2007 9:38 pm

Ha ha :D

Seems to be a universal thing...

Mine would be on four columns right now if I hadn't regrouped some of the shortcuts lol

Phantom
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:17 pm

Re: For those people running windows...

Post by Phantom » Fri Nov 23, 2007 11:27 pm

mines fine, since im using vista ive got a nice scrolling one, but i dont use it anyway since i just type what i want to run into the search bar....dunno what id do if i had to go back to xp without that search bar.

jd2kuk
Posts: 1537
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 12:19 am
Location: UK

Re: For those people running windows...

Post by jd2kuk » Sat Nov 24, 2007 4:59 pm

Yeah that is rather handy... I'm personally not a huge fan of vista overall though. I tend to access most programs now by doing the keyboard shortcut for run and just typing in the exe name- works for most programs on my computer.

I think if I had the money mind, I'd get a mac- I find the dock in mac os x way more intuitive than the start menu (Mac os X ftw! :D )

I've attached my offending start menu lol; it fills the screen in height
Attachments
StartMenu.gif

jd2kuk
Posts: 1537
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 12:19 am
Location: UK

Re: For those people running windows...

Post by jd2kuk » Sun Nov 25, 2007 1:38 pm

:shock: Blast, I've given away my secret identity...

User avatar
TJ_2k7
Posts: 878
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 6:31 pm

Re: For those people running windows...

Post by TJ_2k7 » Sun Nov 25, 2007 1:44 pm

jd2kuk wrote: I'd get a mac- I find the dock in mac os x way more intuitive than the start menu :D )
This is a program that works on windows which creates a dock simular to A mac's dock

I didnt normally use my start menu but i used my messy desktop, but i lately organised my desktop so i use my start menu a bit more.

Image

So it aint to bad...
:mrgreen:

jd2kuk
Posts: 1537
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 12:19 am
Location: UK

Re: For those people running windows...

Post by jd2kuk » Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:50 pm

Ahhh yeah, I had objectdock installed before- and it was pretty cool actually. Didn't feel right in a windows environment though.

Plus it can't do stacks like leopard can...

I'll be impressed if anyone on this forum has a start menu with less than 3 columns...

Phantom
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:17 pm

Re: For those people running windows...

Post by Phantom » Sun Nov 25, 2007 7:06 pm

*print screens and uploads*
...
...
...
here you go:
Image

but my desktop, well thats a mess (i only use about 5 icons on it if that):
Image

jd2kuk
Posts: 1537
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 12:19 am
Location: UK

Re: For those people running windows...

Post by jd2kuk » Sun Nov 25, 2007 7:20 pm

Ahhh the windows desktop :D

I did organise mine at one point, but windows lost the icon positions so I just couldn't be bothered to do it again

Post Reply