CC3 Server (archive)

Discuss it here

Moderators: Community Moderators, Veterans - RM Community

Forum rules
RM Specific Disclaimer: Users should be advised that any software files, modifications, upgrades, plugins etc are property of the poster.
Xatrix Security do not accept ownership of these files nor do we accept liability for any copyright violations.
Xatrix Community Guidelines: Click Here
Locked
User avatar
cgimusic
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:11 pm

Re: CC3 Server

Post by cgimusic » Wed Apr 02, 2008 8:46 pm

binky wrote:
cgimusic wrote:Lots of the settings in the management console are locked such as global workstation settings. Does anyone know how to unlock them?

Edit : I have managed to unlock global workstation settings but I still can't edit the default user types.
You can't edit default user types, you need to make a copy of them to unlock them.
Ok thanks.

User avatar
TJ_2k7
Posts: 878
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 6:31 pm

Re: CC3 Server

Post by TJ_2k7 » Wed Apr 02, 2008 8:50 pm

I just did the guide that irksome kindly wrote again.
and still came out with the same errors.
Is it my computer or vmware ?

Please Help its driving me crazy ! :lol:

:mrgreen:

irksome
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 9:44 pm
Location: Warwickshire

Re: CC3 Server

Post by irksome » Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:09 pm

TJ, try going to Administrative Tools > DNS. Delete all the zones in there. Then repeat the steps. And yes, where you have wrote "What goes in here, cc3.local?", yes it's cc3.local.

Otherwise it looks OK to me. :?

cheesepuff, that looks to me as if it is jsut connected to the domain by standard Windows methods. Does it by any chance take a while to logon?

User avatar
ICT Tech
Community Master Admin
Posts: 1415
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:33 pm
Location: In my chair!

Re: CC3 Server

Post by ICT Tech » Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:14 pm

For anyone TOTALY BAFFLED! Don't worry, if you can wait a few days GOOD! I will make a guide for you to setup everything, then I will host it on media, it will be PDF Format :D

ICT Tech

User avatar
heebyjeebys
Posts: 1352
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:24 pm

Re: CC3 Server

Post by heebyjeebys » Thu Apr 03, 2008 11:00 am

OK, i am going to download it as soon as someone has a fully working RM server... that has workstations too etc...

User avatar
TJ_2k7
Posts: 878
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 6:31 pm

Re: CC3 Server

Post by TJ_2k7 » Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:00 pm

I'm totally lost....
Now i have the same issue as cheesepuff. Takes ages to logon aswell
I'm going to revert to a snapshot a took in vmware and do the process again.
I think ICT Tech's guide is going to help me so i'm waiting on that.

:mrgreen:

jd2kuk
Posts: 1537
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 12:19 am
Location: UK

Re: CC3 Server

Post by jd2kuk » Thu Apr 03, 2008 8:23 pm

If workstations take ages to log on, it's probably due to a DNS problem.

irksome
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 9:44 pm
Location: Warwickshire

Re: CC3 Server

Post by irksome » Thu Apr 03, 2008 11:16 pm

Yep it's definately DNS. When setting up your forward lookup zones always use the .local extension. Also, make sure the client's DNS address points to the IP of the server. These are the two main points.

User avatar
TJ_2k7
Posts: 878
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 6:31 pm

Re: CC3 Server

Post by TJ_2k7 » Fri Apr 04, 2008 10:50 am

Ok,

I re-done it with the DNS and it half works.
It successfully logs on and you can access your folders on the server but there is so RM components.
No login screen, status box, walllpaper,icons etc

I'm manually installing the things like desktop agent and logon provider etc
I have re-done your guide twice and both times it has done the same.
Screenshot below
Image

Thanks

EDIT: After installing all the components manually it works perfect!
Thanks irksome!

User avatar
cheesepuff
Posts: 531
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 5:45 pm
Contact:

Re: CC3 Server

Post by cheesepuff » Fri Apr 04, 2008 3:06 pm

logged in locally and guess what! - it worked. after a gazillion reboots, it booted into the rm logon screen and connected me to the network. thanks.

Locked