ERD Commander 2005

No, these are not photoshop tutorials!

Moderators: Community Moderators, Tutorial Writers

Fergie1
Posts: 257
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: UK

ERD Commander 2005

Post by Fergie1 » Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:49 pm

Tutorial by ICT Tech.

If you want to use ERD Commander 2005 but do not have it, PM ICT Tech your email address as you can no longer download it.
Plus it's too big a file to PM.

To use any aspect of ERD Commander properly, you need to have it on a CDFS format disk.
Insert it into your drive and boot from it, please make sure your bios is set to boot from CD.

When it loads up you go to the start menu.
The programs are sorted into 3 sections.
Network Tools,
System Tools,
Administrator Tools,
We are going to be using Locksmith which is in the System Tools.
To use Locksmith:
Boot the computer from the disk,
Go to Start, System Tools, Locksmith
Then chose the Account Name in which you want to reset the password for, then reset it.
Reboot the system.

To gain more privileges (RM Users)
Then login to the account for which you have the password,
Go to the desktop, click RM Management Console, login,
Go to Users, Students, Then find the folder which you are in,
Then play around with your privileges.
You would be best to pick:
Authority: Authorise
Account Type: RM Explorer
Groups: System Administrator
This way you have UNRESTRICTED ACCESS to the FULL NETWORK.

(Bit Of Advice: Don't run RM Tutor unless you are sure your ICT Tech DOESN'T run reports on students)
ENJOY :D :D :D

User avatar
TJ_2k7
Posts: 878
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 6:31 pm

Re: ERD Commander 2005

Post by TJ_2k7 » Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:36 pm

Thanks ICT Tech!
Great guide.
I thought the account you reset only allows local access and not access to Management Console, or are accounts cached..?

:mrgreen:

User avatar
ICT Tech
Community Master Admin
Posts: 1415
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:33 pm
Location: In my chair!

Re: ERD Commander 2005

Post by ICT Tech » Tue Mar 04, 2008 9:48 pm

no, when you use locksmith you can reset any user that can use that particular machine.
But watch you don't get caught in school, the ERD Commander 2005 operatin system is like this: (so be careful)

YET AGAIN, I CAN'T UPLOAD PICTURES
so this rar file contains the screenshot.
29630.rar
(88.15 KiB) Downloaded 582 times

User avatar
heebyjeebys
Posts: 1352
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:24 pm

Re: ERD Commander 2005

Post by heebyjeebys » Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:13 pm

I got EDR commander on disk.
anyone want it?
need to get more blank CD's though....

User avatar
TJ_2k7
Posts: 878
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 6:31 pm

Re: ERD Commander 2005

Post by TJ_2k7 » Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:23 pm

I just remembered that most of our Computers have no disc drive....!
Is this possible through a floppy or USB Stick...?

:mrgreen:

User avatar
ICT Tech
Community Master Admin
Posts: 1415
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:33 pm
Location: In my chair!

Re: ERD Commander 2005

Post by ICT Tech » Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:41 pm

if you make a bootable usb device and change the boot priority of the machine

jd2kuk
Posts: 1537
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 12:19 am
Location: UK

Re: ERD Commander 2005

Post by jd2kuk » Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:42 pm

Okay, just to clear something up, you can't use locksmith to gain access to RM management console (Not directly, anyway ;) ).

And it should be no problem running ERD commander off a memory stick; you'll need to format it as such first though.

User avatar
TJ_2k7
Posts: 878
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 6:31 pm

Re: ERD Commander 2005

Post by TJ_2k7 » Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:44 pm

jd2kuk wrote:Okay, just to clear something up, you can't use locksmith to gain access to RM management console (Not directly, anyway ;) ).

And it should be no problem running ERD commander off a memory stick; you'll need to format it as such first though.
You used the wink again, what do you mean by not directly.
And also how do i make my USB a bootable one..?

EDIT: :mrgreen:
Last edited by TJ_2k7 on Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ICT Tech
Community Master Admin
Posts: 1415
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:33 pm
Location: In my chair!

Re: ERD Commander 2005

Post by ICT Tech » Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:46 pm

jd2kuk wrote:Okay, just to clear something up, you can't use locksmith to gain access to RM management console (Not directly, anyway ;) ).

And it should be no problem running ERD commander off a memory stick; you'll need to format it as such first though.
Read my tutorial again - SLOWLY

jd2kuk
Posts: 1537
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 12:19 am
Location: UK

Re: ERD Commander 2005

Post by jd2kuk » Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:51 pm

Done that :mrgreen:

Post Reply